Invited Artist and Invited Group Programs

Whitehorse Artspace is seeking expressions of interest from individual artists and groups living, working or studying in Whitehorse, to exhibit as part of the Artspace 2018 exhibition calendar.

Whitehorse Artspace, in partnership with Council’s Visual Arts Committee, selects a local artist and a local group to showcase their work at Box Hill Town Hall as part of the annual exhibition program.

Artspace welcomes a range of exhibition proposals in all media including ceramics, drawing, painting, printmaking, jewellery, sculpture, photography or textiles.

The chosen artist and group will be given access to museum-standard exhibition space for approximately a month at minimal cost and is asked to participate in a visitor floor talk and official opening.

Recipients of the Invited Artist Program in recent years have included Jo Reitze, textile artist Cresside Collette, painter, printmaker and ceramicist Philip Davey, photojournalist June Orford and painter Donald Ramsay.

Last year, the 2016 Invited Artist was local photographer Mark Hopper, whose exhibition 'Scratch the Surface' attracted hundreds of patrons.

In 2015, the Invited Group Program featured a group of textile artists – Stitch Theorem - the last students to graduate from Box Hill Institute’s Diploma of Textile Arts, along with renowned botanical artist and local resident Fiona McKinnon who was the Invited Artist for 2015.

Applications for the 2018 exhibition program.

Please download the Application Form below and return to Whitehorse Artspace by 30 June 2017. Finalists will be chosen by the Visual Arts Committee.

The successful Artist and Group will be notified by 31 July 2017.

Invited Artist Application

pdf icon  Artspace Invited Artist Program Application Form 2018 (415.79kB)

Invited Group Application

pdf icon  Artspace Invited Group Program Application Form 2018 (343.87kB)

For more information, phone the Senior Arts Curator Jacquie Nichols-Reeves on 9262 6250 during gallery open times or email


    Jo Reitze